top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

Fantastic workshops at Zouk Libra Warsaw 2015

There were unexpected Surprises at Zouk Libra!

The workshops at Zouk Libra were surprisingly amazing, it was the great start of 2015. It was truly awesome. It would not be an exaggeration to say it could be the best workshops in 2014 of all congressess I have attended.

Three factors of hatreds in congress personally are 1) Overcrowded workshops and parties 2) No organisation for workshops by instructors ( instructors do not tell how to make rotate people or forget to tell change partners, talk too much and no contents )

3) workshop venues are a middle of nowhere and there are no cafés , bars or restaurants nearby.

This congress got all of those three!! Yet, somehow,I loved this congress.

Why is that? It was not possible, it has never been possible.

In my opinion, workshops done at this congress are outstanding. Maybe it just happen to be great programme for this congress as many are similar gorgeous instructors as other congresses. Many friends who attended at these congress also were impressed with it. However, I heard review from last year, there are not many advance dancers there.

Many repeated congress goers tend to skip workshops and I was about do the same as I did not expect these workshops were so high standards. When I participated in Friday workshops, it was just open level and I thought workshops are meant to be for improvers as at many other congresses.

The first workshop was great eye opening workshop done by

Alisa and Akashi. I did not know them until this congress but they taught us nice moves ( wave back to back) I did not even bring my camera and I deeply regretted it. Then second class done by Audley and Alisson. I knew their names but I have never participated in their class in the past. It was also awesome. They taught spinning with head bending while locking hand by neck. I always wanted to learn this move and so happy with that. The moves were so cool if we master them. By those two lesson on the first night, I startd to feel I must not miss any classess!!!

On Saturday, started with isolation class by Mariusz.

Wow, it was also awesome workshop, unusual class. Great isolation class by male. I dance with him on Friday night and he was so fun and has nice character. Each isolation he demonstrated was very important technique and I deeply regret I could not record it. (reverse body roll etc...) I could not recorded because I was doing his class. I should have just recorded his class instead of participating it.

Then, another awesome class by Xandy and Evelyn. Contemporary class.

I think I did same class back in July at Berlin but I am also amazed how I still can not do it….. it is true some workshops needed to repeated. Especially Chandy and Evelin workshops.

I did Evely lady styling class which is also exactly same as I did in London. So I should be expected to do very well by now but I am ashamed I still cannot get it.

Then Amazing workshop by them. It was gobsmacked lesson as his move was original and one step ahead. I was watching beside at the beginning because there were too many people in a class and I did not bother to find leaders each time. ( Always women have to find men here as there is no circle round and finding dance partner is a total shamble and caotic!! ) However, the move he was teaching was so amazing and I decided to jump in by grabbing leaders.

In short, the move is women can also take control by stopping him. So it is not a role of leader or follower concept! Women also did him turn and the move were simply fun and amazing.

On Sunday they also taught us authentic reverse turn which I love it!! It is a twist of turn and a bit of surprise.

Apart from Evely and Xandy, other instructors also did amazing workshops. Most of workshops I attended at this congress were truly fantastic. Of course I loves lift class by Brno and Eglantine. Brno has also taught us Spinning. The way he taught spinning was good but no one could do a spinning at the class. Unless students does salsa for a long time, they cannot make lady spin properly. It takes a long time to master. But at least we had a fun.

I have never excited about class at congresses but I am so happy about class at Libra. For the congress price we paid, it is amazing value. If the organiser rent a spacious venue ( about double size as this one) next year, keeping quality of workshop as this year, more foods and teas supply, it will be the best congress of Europe.

- Party-

I loved party as well while some people did not impressed with it. I asked the reason why. Some said the lack of vive!!

Parties at Friday and Sunday, I love it as there were less people. I liked the music and the sitting room outside dancing floor. At sitting floor, we can talk ( not noisy)

People who participate for the congress are very friendly and many people said so.

  • Other factor

Many find it difficult to eat lunch or dinner as there is no lunch facility in the same building. On Friday, my friend were starving as there was nothing to eat around venue. On Saturday, there were long queue for lunch served at next building. I did not mind it at all as I stayed a flat and cooked meal by myself.

People looked at my packed lunch prepared and envied. ( Sorry I did not enough staff to share with people then) I did not have to queye and ate healthy yammy lunch. I always prefer flat to hotel and I really gald I chose flat this time in particular. My flat is also walking distance while all my friends have to use taxi to get hotel. ( Taxi is damme cheap though) One of my friend stayed at Hilton Hotel at central which is 10 minutes by taxi each journey. This is also good choice because price I paid for the flat and this Hilton hotel is about same!!! Many used IBIS hotel which is 20-30 minutes away from venue and it seems OK as they can share taxi together.

One thing I really wanted was a coffee machine in the venue.

Teachers were also complaining about it too. ( please get it next year!)

Sightseeing

It is getting norm for me to arrive one day earlier than workshops tart in order to see town.

I think this is also good for me. I understand it is difficult for many to take extra day off. This extra one day make big difference for congress.

I arrived on Thursday and first thing I do is to go to big super market and purchase enough food for breakfast and lunch and dinner. Sometime I have to throw food as I go to restaurant at times but I only went restaurant last day. ( There were no restaurant near the venue but there were a couple of restaurant near my flat)

I went Old town and new town and center using metro. Many people cannot speak English. Asking direction are most difficult thing. Polish food were good and cheap. I did not find cheap for fashion products. Only 10% cheaper than UK and there are lots of same shops as in UK. So I think Shopping does not seem to be interesting here.!!

All in all, this congress is amazing value and highly recommendable.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page