top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

DANCE OUTSIDE BOX" and live outside box - " Home of Zouk 3"

DSCF2829.JPG

Guys who dance “ out of Box”

In the first year we start zouk dance, I feel zoukers are most prone to experience wonderful dances. Mr A, one of guys whom I mentioned at Home of zouk is the one of very few guys who can dance out of box, when we met and danced for the first time; it was on Thames river boat in Oct 2013. When we first danced on there, he made me fall to a state of shock. He took advance steps with distinguish robotic move for about ten steps without inviting my hands! Who else can think this move at the very beginning of dance!! It was an electric shock I still remember and later I discovered he was a quite famous eccentric dancer. The second time I met him was at local club in May. The third time was at the zouk party at South Kensington. I did not fall into a state of shock for those occasions but those dances confirmed me that he is actually a great dancer, not the one of the best though.

Then, the fourth time was this boat. As I wrote in my earlier blog, I wanted to record our dancing as I thought we may make very authentic dancing together. When music started, I said to him “this music would not make good one” because I needed something more exciting music to make more authentic, the music should be cool R&B. But he took my hands as if he does not mind any music as if he could interpret any music into authentic dancing. The music is soft and flat and rather romantic, far from exotic one. But Mr A made the rather plain music different. (Please go to see kazouk you tube channel dance on Thames boat )

As can be seen from the video recording, he gave me a few shocks during our dancing again. Maybe not obvious from onlookers, but I was shocked. If you watched at the video 2:06 till 2:17, he suddenly started to make advance steps after stepped backwards and you could see I did not know what I should react to his move. Then he stopped all the sudden and pulled me like shaking me so our faces are nearly touching! I showed this video to non zouk dancing friends and they all yelled each other with astonishment! Even just watching these moves make some people shock, especially, if people do not know zouk dance! My non zouk friends were totally shocked watching this.

They screamed out “KAZ! WHATS HAPPENING! “ “Do you know him well?” (Not really) “You do not know him? Then you dance like that????” While I was dancing with him. I was so shocked by the move but quickly and calmly tried to regain myself so we could continue dancing. But here comes again!!!

At 2:46, then he stopped me in his chest and it was literally “OH MY GOD!!! “What is happening” in my mind. Until he made me circle motions, I was not realised I was still dancing with him. I tried to hide my embarrassment and blusher.

I was not sure if we were dancing or doing something else….. I am sure even experienced zoukers may feel this shocking by watching this??? My non dancing friend asked me if I knew names I dance with. I happen to know his name in this occasion, but sometime we dance without knowing names. (We do not always introduce ourselves each other) She laughed and totally bewildered how people could dance like that, not even knowing their names we dance with!! (That is good point! For normal people, these dancing must be very weird…)

I think Mr A enjoys giving shocks to ladies he dance with, find it amusing by that. It is also awe inspiring for women to experience such surprises.

Zouk is immensely interesting if leaders do not make dance inside box. The electrifying experience will only occur when leaders can dance outside box. For example, Kamacho can do that when he is in an authentic mood. Later, I talked a lady who also he gave her a total shock. She said he just hugged her during whole music when they first dance, there was no move at all!!!! I can imagine how she felt such a long time!!!! Who else can do like this? I saw he was dancing normal so he does not do all the time. I wonder when he uses these surprises. I think he just follow his instincts according to ladies.

This kind of experience is extremely rare but I had another electrifying dance experience before entering zouk. It was with salsa dancer. He was also dance outside box and gave me a full of surprise ( In fact he gave shocks to many ladies) As it was salsa (Salsaish), it was not sensual way, but it was also sensational dance. This dancer manoeuvred in a big dance floor of El Glande which was choco packed with people, flipping my leg to back unexpectedly and Turning and dipping from corner to corner!! That was fantastic, that dance has never happened before and after. ( A record )

Interestingly, dancing with Top international dancers are not necessary you feel great about it. They are technically great and most Brazilian dancers are charmingly gaze at you and smiled ladies when dancing, thus make ladies feel special. However, they do not use their best skills on us like they do at show performance on the stage. ( of course…..floors are small and they think we cannot follow and they may be tired dancing continuously) the style of dancing need to harmonised. When Xandy used his hand to my chin like his performance, I felt a bit strange! ( I do not get used to it!) Most recently I felt like I went inside miracle fantasy world when I danced with Daniel ( Daniel and Letica)

He is very different as other dancers on social dance. He dances with ladies as if he knows all about his partners inside and out wonderfully!! He boasted many leaders said he was the best follower to them!!! ( Did you see his dance as a follower? Awesome!! ) When dancing, I really felt I swooped into another world. Very caring, understand my body instantly, if not, he at least tried to understand my body when started to dance with all the efforts with his strength. When we finished dancing, I felt we finished excellent therapy session!! ( emotional massage?) That dance was interesting though I did not recall what kind of dance we did at all. As woman, we cannot give a shock like men could make them smile by great responding.

I most enjoy dancing when man started to play with variety of dance style depends on music. I love zouk because we can create completely new and original, adding own flavour to dance. That is something special about zouk in my reason. When someone gives you a sensation through dance or if you can give someone a sense of sensation, it is something really special. That is why we continue zouk. That is why I do zouk. What is your reason about loving zouk? ----------Let’s “ Dance outside box” , and live outside box!!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page