top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

Flash Mob London 2014 & Brno Zouk Congress 2014

It has been busy weeks since zouk troops came back from Brno zouk Congress. On the day I came back from Brno, I discovered that 2014’s Zouk Flash Mob would soon take place in London. It turned out the practice would start exactly on the day I came back to the UK! I had to alter my plans which meant instead of having a week to relax, totally free from dancing, I needed to change accordingly!

ZOUK FLASH MOB LONDON 2014

The world wide Zouk Flash mob is important for the zouk scene as it allows to promote the dance and is a lot of fun to practise. This year it was not going to be happening as there were no London based Zouk teacher actually formed a class to teach the routine. After the Zoukmania team decided to participate in Flash Mob 2014 finally, I was so pleased. So I had to do it, I did not have a

dance partner for the rehearsal at that time, but at least I could to practise even though I would not be able to perform it with partner. I asked several male Zouk leads to join me at the rehearsals. However just after one rehearsal, two males withdrew from taking part from it and there were over ten ladies versus four males. Those four males already had partners so there was no way for me to perform it. I can imagine how hard it is for organiser & teachers to organise these situation, so I told them I would withdraw so that the follower count would go down. Thankfully, my fellow leaders encouraged me to carry on practising and I was glad I did. Eventually, I was lucky and I had a mob partner in the end.

The rehearsals for the last 2 weeks were a bit hard for us as we started to practise late. Thankfully the person who organised the lessons called for assistance from his friends and he found two assistant teachers who voluntarily taught us and it worked out very well . I participated a rehearsal group for Flash Mob 2013 which was organised by some established dance teachers last year. This year the practise turned out to be even better organised despite the initial problems. Eventually, it turned out we had a great outcome on the flash mob. A fabulous Zouk event for zoukers who truly love zouk.

Brno Zouk congress 2014

Oh yes, I was meant to write about the Brno zouk Congress, but I had been so busy dealing with the flash mob preparation therefore I write about it all together now.

This congress was the most talked about congress together with the Prague Congress in March 2014. So many UK zoukers seemed to be in favour of this specific congress, which meant I only heard good things about this congress. Apparently many UK zouk dancers attend this congress every year.

So I decided to give it a go this year.

In a few words, I think I had more fun spending time at town and communicating with fellow dancers than at the actual congress. This review is my totally personal description of the congress and thereby shall not give an objective description of its true quality. People’s expectations obviously vary every time. Like in the past years, I am sure many zoukers, who attended this year also had great fun, without any doubt. For me, it did not fulfil my expectations although I had good fun with my UK friends and exploring the town. My reasonings are as follows.

First of all, the workshops have a different format as most other congresses. The classes last 90mins instead of the usual more common 60 minutes! Therefore there was only space for 4 classes a day. There are two levels of partner work dance classes at the same time apart from lady styling class (45 minutes each). That was quite an interesting change as I got so used to participate at 1 hour workshops often at 6 to 7 lessons per congress day. As lady styling class ran parallel to normal classes, it effectively levelled out number the ratio of leaders and followers. It meant many followers did not have to wait for their turn to get a partner. Additionally there were also men’s styling class by Renato and Bruno. I admit I understood why they created one hour and a half classes.

In many congresses, we hear of many leaders getting frustrated because they were offered to learn so many new techniques, styles & moves during the day, which were so many that it was impossible to remember them all after the day’s classes were over. Therefore many leads tend to skip some of the class. At just four classes a day, it seems much more possible to absorb new moves, as they are taught at a slower pace. On the hand this may have been especially popular for leaders at improvers & intermediate level.

On the other hand, the problem was that some instructors struggled to actually structure their classes to the extended timescale of the Brno congress. Thereby instead of maybe add an extra move or styling to fill the extra 30 minutes, they actually filled the void by doing more talking. In many classes, we actually ended up hearing extended explanations of moves instead of learning them properly in the first place or getting a chance to practise them so extensively that everybody in the class would finally understand the moves. From the fellow dancers I asked, I heard good and bad comments about that format but many agreed tht the teachers talked too much.

For me, it was an absolute no-go. I was utterly bored at listening at their explanations, many times we just stood there without getting the chance to actually practise. Additionally I did not notice any new awe inspiring techniques in this congress despite the fact I selected all advanced level classes. I would say there were no advanced level workshops apart from Eglantine’s lady styling class. (I will write how she holds lady styling class later)

The content was exactly same as being normally taught at other congress’ one hour workshops, therefore to make use of the extra 30 minutes, most of them just decided to talk longer.

Sometimes they allowed the attendees to ask questions. These extra 30 minutes would have been very useful if those teachers went around the class and corrected our mistakes. Only very few teachers did this. Eglantine and Bruno were one of the few couples who did that. They circled around and tried to advise each of the students. Maybe other teachers may have done that as well if they did not spend such a long time explaining.

Thumbs up for Eglantine and Bruno may the others follow their suit.

In regard to Bruno and Eglantine, I kept on meeting them at most congresses since I started attending Zouk congresses last year. Since I started I never had a chance to get to know Eglantine until this congress. I used to think she was very quiet and does not talk much or speak loudly. Consequently I had an image of her, that she is just a lady who just likes to follow man, shy to express her own opinion.

This congress is the first time she really spoke up and taught students properly. It showed that she is a very confident and strong teacher. Above of all, she has a philosophy of her own, and a distinct one! So I really was surprised and impressed with her.

For example, when one the guys I practised with insisted that I had to change how my shoulder would move while practising in a circle, I asked Eglantine about our confusion when she was next to us. She listened to us and asked us to dance in front of her. But the guy did not want to do it and instead he tried to ask her in words. Eglantines insisted to show her our dance. But he still wanted to talk. Really he failed to realise that he was just wasting our little private class time with Eglantine so I gave him a bit of a push and told him we got to dance in front of her. After she watched our move, Eglantine pointed out his mistakes. She then asked him to dance with her and she just completely stopped her move at the point when the guy did not lead properly. Consequently the guy was upset as Eglantine stayed still in one position, not moving!! The original question was if my shoulder was right or not, but she actually focussed on him so the guy appeared quite embarrassed. I did not believe Eglantine had such firm side. From this experience I learnt I do not have to help guys if they do not lead correctly. Others agreed on her skills so I was not the only person who noticed her firm side.

After the workshop, a guy from the UK, who is teaching some students locally, said exactly the same. He struggled to dance the taught routine with several girls but then he danced with Eglantine and learnt to lead confidently. As a side effect she also crashed his pride into pieces!! He was also very surprised about her toughness!! We had never assumed she had such strong side. From her soft outlook and quietness, I had never imagined she would teach students like that. Now I have great respect for her knowledge and style.

Bruno is also amazing, he is always very popular on the dance floor at congresses leading to constant queues of ladies wanting to dance with him. Other teachers do not have such queue. I imagine he must be so tired responding to all the ladies demands.

Even if there were not so many queues, some international teachers want to take rest (of course!! They should!) and sometime they escape from those demands. However, I never see Bruno turn down ladies requests and he always dances with a great smile!!! I was most amazed he danced midnight till morning on the last day at Brno!!! It was so impossible! I think he just wanted to show his appreciations which would have earned him applause on his own rights by his students. Their classes are always followed by long lasting endless clapping. And he was so humble and told us “this is the reason we keep on going! “ Their attitudes are truly professional and fantastic whether we are fond of their style or not. They created their own style, which is important.

For many zoukeiros, parties are more important than workshops.

Parties at Brno were great, many zoukers liked the fact parties that they went on till morning (As I have never stayed till morning, I cannot comment on this side, but many people seem to love it)!! I noticed some odd songs were played at peak times so there were occasions half of zouk dancers did not come onto the floor. (Many people cannot dance Zouk Lambada style or Bachata, Disco music) I was lucky I can dance all type of dances. And when it happened to me I was luckily dancing with a salsa teacher. Unfortunately some other people had to wait until the zouk music came back.

Shows and entertainment were also another feel-good-factor about this congress.

I find this congress strength are its shows and entertainment. The shows were most amusing and great fun. I really particularly liked Jack and Jill show by the instructors. Leaders drew other half from hat and had to dance with music they did not practise before. Freddy and Eglantine. Olaya was so hilarious. The pair of Olaya and Renato was extremely entertaining and I regret I did not record it! I am keeping on begging people to send me one if they ever recorded it!!! That was simply the best show I have ever seen at a congress.!!! (I even posted it on zouktime Facebook page to upload!! so please share the video with me if you have one!!!! I want watch again and again)

Last but not least, Brno is a nice town, very pleasant and small. The people were friendly and the city centre not too big in size. I most enjoyed the show at Brno. Nice, intimate atmosphere.

I recommend this congress for those who enjoy parties rather than workshops, also recommend attending with friends or your dance partners to enjoy this friendly congress.

By the way, Bruno and Eglantine were at our Zouk Flash Mob in London on the 21st of Sep 2014 and danced with us.

How cool is that!! (see video)

* Special thanks to Fabian Zouker who kindly oddered proofread, thank you very much.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page