top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

Bonjour, I am Sabrina, helping to connect zouk in France with the rest of world !

The photo above is Ms Sabrina with Mr. Thiago at Flash Mob 2014, great shot!!

The photo was taken by Ms. Maryam Arab.

  • You have been nominated by Ms Noora as a special zouker. Would you tell me how you met her and how you developed a friendship with her?

I met Noora two years ago at Helsinki zouk festival. She came to talk to us, the French girls lost in cold Finland. She was so sweet and welcoming, we felt at home ! We regularly meet at congresses, but we had more time to know each other last year at awesome Zouk devils festival in Spain. I'm a bit shy so I'm really amazed about how she easily manage go towards people. She has a big heart and you can see it on the dancefloor : she's like an angel always smiling and feeling the music. One of a kind !

  • Ms Noora told me that you have lots of interesting story, please share your interesting story would like to share with us? Please also briefly summarise your zouk history.

I discovered Brazilian social dances (forro, samba and zouk) in a dance festival in Rio in 2007. At that time I was only dancing samba no pe, no couple dances. I was really amazed to discover all this but thought it was too difficult to learn in 3 days, except for forro, that became my first social dance coming back to France. It is only in 2009 that I went to my first zouk festival in Spain. I loved the energy and the music so much that I became addicted in an instant. I went to a lot of congresses in Europe and in Brazil for 5 years, I learnt a lot from various teachers and different styles in workshops and private classes. I was an assistant to Alex Lima with whom I improved a lot my musicality and style. Now I learning more and more about technics and teaching skills as I belong to the French team of Alex de Carvalho who recently settled in Paris.

  • Please tell us about your passions in life apart from Zouk and any ambition or goal in your life (Or policy or motto)? Do you think is there any relation between the passion and zouk?

I love traveling, experiencing new cultures, opening my mind. So whenever it's possible, for dancing purpose or not, I go around discovering the world. One of my motto is the more I learn the less I know. I want to spend my life learning and knowing more people. Another motto for me is live the life to the fullest. So zouk is the perfect match for both !

  • Do you have a daily job and any other major activities ?

I also chose my job following this line. I'm a journalist, the best way to learn about a lot of things ! I'm working for an online news agency specialized in sustainable development.

My other major activity is working in my free time for our association ZoukdoBrasil.fr. My great friend Aurélie created it at the beginning of 2010 to develop and promote our beloved dance in Paris. She had already been dancing for a few years in London and was anxious to practice in Paris, where there was nearly no zouk. We worked a lot to grow the scene, organising workshops with foreign teachers of various styles, parties for people to practice, and centralising information about classes and events in Paris. We built a nice community here but there is still so much work to do.

Something that people may not realise abroad is that it is not easy to grow brazilian zouk in France, where zouk from the French island is better known as dance and music. There is a tremendous amount of communication to do to make people understand the difference.

  • Do you have any favourite zouk instructors or zouk style? What is the reason ?

I started with lambazouk, which taught me a lot about body techniques and rhythm. Now I'm more into Rio style, which can be danced on slowest beats and allow us to play more with the music. I still enjoy learning from all the teachers who can bring their own touch and enable us to dance on every kind of music. My goal is to be able to dance with any dancers with differents styles.

  • Tell me some impressive episodes you have encountered during your zouk history? (If you have already mentioned in the question 1, please let us know where you want to go from now on?)

I was already in love with Brazil before dancing zouk, and was even more after. I have been there like 6 or 7 times ! But it was always frustrating to stay only for a few days. So I decided to spend 3 months there to improve my portuguese and dances. I lived in Rio for 2 months in March and April and travelled around Brazil in May. I trained my zouk and samba de gafieira at CDAC, Alex de Carvalho's school, as well as other dances like bolero, soltinho... I love the atmosphere of dance schools in Brazil, with students trying every dances, and teachers really encouraging them to get better. It was a great project, I'm so happy to have experienced that.

  • Any particular messagees or advice for zoukers?

First thing I would say is go to classes. Zouk is a mix of techniques and feelings. But you have to master the basics, cambres, head movements, in order to protect your own body or your partner's. Then you'll be able to let go and express yourself.

  • Please nominate a MALE zouker with interesting profile as well as being a great zouker but in different country please? And tell us the reason why he or she deserves to be a special zouker

I would like to nominate Darius, an awesome dancer from Canada.

He is doing the same job as us of promotion and development of zouk in Toronto. He didn't choose the easy way as he is also teaching to blind people. He is a typical and generous figure. I met him in Prague and I was amazed about his musicality and theatrical gift. With him, you forget everything and you really dance like nobody is watching.

Apart from these questions, please feel free to describe something important to feature about you, I may edit some.

I'm a French girl living in Paris. I've been dancing since I'm 3 (ballet, modern jazz, brazilian dances).

Kazuyo, thank you very much for this opportunity you gave me to tell my story. It is really nice to know more about people from the zouk community around the world. Because we meet them on the dance floor and don't always have time to socialize, it's a pity...

( From Kazouk)

Lastly, thank you so much for taking time and agreeing to be featured in kazouk.

I am sure, many people would be interested in knowing you more and your connection worldwide can expand !

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page