top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

The Amsterdam Zouk Congress 2014 Review

The Amsterdam congress met more than our expectations. As far as I know, all participants were excited with the quality of the congress and happy.

When I first entered the event venue on Friday, I instantly had a good feeling, felt at ease and I knew it was going to be great.

Although people had not started to arrive, I felt a great atmosphere coming from the venue and reception team.

The venue was lovely, it was a comfortable lay out and a Dragon team was efficient and friendly. I could see whole team made an effort to make this event successful.

Well done to Mr Dragon and Bruna who put so much effort to this event, I can understand why he cried at the end of event. The team were united and well trained. The Reception staffs were efficient and friendly.

His effort paid off, he had asked all attendees what kind of music we like and he had personally asked what would make the event successful two or three months before to us. (By private box!)

The event was definitely successful firstly because all the team seem to have worked hard and the teamwork looks great.

Secondly, the event was well organised. The time table was well considered and each workshop was well balanced and the invited great instructors. The workshops were clearly labelled from level 1 to 3.

The selection of workshops was also interesting. I enjoyed two acrobatic programmes on Saturday, it nearly killed me but I enjoyed it so much.

I am glad that I was taught by different instructors from those who normally appear at big congresses. I discovered great instructors here.

The couple’s names were George and Renato. I had not heard about them until this congress announced these instructors. When I checked out them by you tube, I have to say I was not impressed with their demo on u tube.

However, it turned out that their lesson was the most practical and useful in this congress although all the other teachers taught us excellent tequniques. Their dances are not the most elegant or stylish but they were very helpful to make us understand why the tequnique so effective on usual dancing. The mathematic practise they made was amazing. How to not count normal way (How to dance impressive way, in other words)

In addition, at this congress, I finally had an opportunity to learn from world class Larissa and Kadu. Of course, they are amazing without doubt!! It was exactly what I expected from their you tube demo,-beautiful, elegant and inspiring. However I have to say, her dance is gifted and professionally trained, so we cannot create similar elegance. Renata and George could teach us something we can use in social dancing but they told us how to make our moves cool in our own style. Therefore, they gave us most practical and effective tips ; I found their teaching extremely helpful. Very cool. I understand why they are so popular among students in Brazil. Renata is not skinny like most female dancers but she is down to earth and such a likable character. George looks smaller than her but both of them are excellent in teaching students. I really like them.

I am so pleased to discover them as I do not really keen on female dancers who show off their sexuality rather than moves of beauty and total expressions.

The third, which was they had a good sound system and DJs. We all liked all the music. The fourth, I found the level of dancers at dance floor were very high. This was the highest level I have ever attended of all six congresses I have attended.

The level of zouk dancing in Neither land is high, maybe due to zouk population; each person I danced with had very good dance skills. As I have not attended Breda or Prague in March, my opinion may change later. I have never attended huge congress. Many people say, Breda and Prague in March invite highest standards of dancers. Those congresses are huge and may not for everyone.

Although I have never been to Breda, I can imagine the level of Breda must be high and wouldn’t let us down. It is definitely on my list for next year if I am still doing zouk.

If I did make any negative comments about this congress, though very minor points, the recommended accommodation was not close enough. The nearest one was 12 minutes’ walk. Other hotels were expensive or far from the venue.

There are no shops or restaurants nearby. (But they served good lunch and acai juice!)

I did not see many instructors dance at the dance floor. I saw only Williem. (Dragon promised to dance with me but he did not do so. I do not blame for this as I know he is extremely busy and responsible for the event.

I skipped Saturday party; I saw him dancing samba on the photo though)

There was a photographer in this congress but he took photos only at the parties. (Berg takes photos all day, every day)

They served cheap foods at Lunch time. There was a nice place to sit and eat. The temperature was just right, which was important.

Asai drink was served in the daytime and party time which I love it. Very healthy and energising.

One lady said it could have been better if the floor has a bit brighter lighting. Perhaps yes, but it was better than the one in Berlin. It was almost impossible to see anyone at the dance floor at Berlin. Here we could see who was dancing at least.

Anyway, I may come back next year if situations permit. I will see how I feel in comparison with Brno where I am going to next week!

*My personal score to this congress is 83 out of 100, but a full mark is almost impossible. ( 90 is the possible best score in reality) - Highly recommended congress. Great for from upper Intermideate to lower advance zouk dancers and all level of samba learners.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page