top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

Review of London Dance Congress 2014 ( Review and blog)

what a weekend it was!

I had my very first birthday dance at Tiger Tiger and it was awesome!! I danced on center stage under illuminatied lights. My first dance partner was Mr Cacau from Brazil (Samba Instructor) and then I danced with my dancing friends one by one. I chose the music, The music was " He wont go" by Adele. My friend who is very good at filming recorded my first dance. I felt like I was dancers on stage!! ( My friend also said i was dancing like a professonal zouk dancer untill I fell down!!) My best zouk friend brought awesome birthday cakes which are big enough for 70 people on that day. I was happy until I read comments on facebook next day.

The following day, some people who normally dance with R&B complained about music on Friday's Party on the facebook. On Saturday, one of zouker seemed to have an argument with the organiser regarding entrance fee. That Provoked criticism on the organiser. Some people did not like the music on Parties because most music were lambada style. I learnt a selection of music and sound system is so huge thing for zoukers.

I often see zoukers choose which music they dance and they do not want to dance music they do not like. I think I am very rare who dance any kind of dance.....I just love dancing regardless music!!

By the way, London Dance Congress was not successful, unfortunately. I heard many people who did not attend workshops labelled the event as disastrous. Because of parties and facebook information, perhaps.. As I know the team made an effort to work it, I am so sorry for them. I personally enjoyed it in the end but they did not make business out of it and their reputation was further ruined by people who attended parties and criticised it on facebook. Well, but it is true that organisers always need to listen what customers want and do not want. Especially, If they actually make comments to them directly, it is important to listen to them, not argue with them. Sometime it may not be reasonable for customer side, but there is always some kind of truth in there and worth listening to it. Zouk world can not make business without customers (zoukers)

As for the workshops, The number of people who attended was so few, only 10 or so. (Some did not turn up) I was so surprised to know when I knew only 15 people purchased for a full ticket. I expected it there would be more than 200 people, at least 100.

There were about 10 artists and 12 workshop and 3 parties in contrast to the flyer printed 30 artists, 50 workshop and 4 parties. Website says there will be Tango and Salsa as well but there were only zouk and samba for three days. Parties were very quiet except Friday which I held my birthday dance. (Still there were only 35 people or so) Website said Organiser aimed to make this congress bigger and better and more exciting than ever before. Instead, It was a kind of worst event.

I try to make most out of the situation I was placed. Eventually we atcually enjoyed this small congress in the end. There were only few instructors but they are very good instructors.

At the beginning, I was very worried that there is no level classed in the workshop, all level are taught in one class. There is one complete beginner and several improvers. Many are intermediate and three or four people are advance level. Inevitably, teacher have to teach basic but also useful for advanced dancers. I learn a lots of them.

Teachers attended: ( ) no show, but I do not recognise many artists so may not be acccurate, will edit later.

Alex dde Carvalho Mathilde

Cacau Mendes (Val Clemente) Fernanda Soriano

(Leo Fortes )

(Robertinha )

(Sula Brasil)

(Henrique Martins)

Ailton Silva (Cristiane Minato)

Alex Lima

(Virginie Petricola )

Marrcelo Bal

(Carlos Andre )

(Luizinho Astral)

(Elena Zouk)

(Jane Zouk )

(Dario Dias)

Jimmy

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page