top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

No more workshop but performance course! comtemporary and zouk performance by Life London

It is surprise for me that I seem to be following normal path which many zouker go through. In the first year, zouker hooked on learning new skills by attending various workshops or class, some zoukers experience a couple of international congress as well as domestic zouk congressess.

In the Second year, some zoukers started to go international congress frequently between 3 to 7 and many started to stop attending class or workshop local and attend party only. In extremely lucky cases, some go international congress almost every month.

Until a few month ago, I never imagined I would join that extreme group.

Impulsively, I booked three congress last month and do not want to book domestic workshop anymore. I was disappointed last a coupl of workshops because the contents of those workshops were something I had already learnt at international congress I had attended and the level of workshops are for general level, often with improvers. On top of it, organisers do not even out the ratio of follower and leader so I end up doing leader at workshop I paid £30 to £40 for it. Like many experienced zoukers after their first year, I also becoming less attending for class and workshop, instead, it is anticipated that I may go more international congress and perhaps to take private lesson.

Then, a few keen zoukers carry on doing this kind of life style for a few years while some are slowing down and select to attend for only few good congress in a year. I will have participated about seven zouk congresses this year in total. ( my first year was three, or four) When I hear some zoukers go almost every month, I thought it was a bit crazy attending zouk congress every month (sorry) but I now totally understand it!! It is becoming an addiction. Not only zouk, it is wonderful travelling to different country and meet different people and enjoy brief sightseeing. We are so lucky that we have hobby we can love so much.

Like many zoukers, it is not surprised if I follow a path, travelling world with zouk one day. Brazil and New York, Miami are definately my lists. One thing it stop me from escaleting it is joining good performance team like salsa world. I found a good one, comptemporary and zouk performance course run by Dance life London Comtemporary and zouk performance course by Bruno Cura and Hana Saotome (See details below)

Unfortunately I cannot attend this time as I go away at least two Sundays and the cost is bit over my means. I would really love to atted this otherwise. I will keep eye on their workshops.

Dance Life London’s Contemporary and Zouk Performance course is a 6 week intensive concluding in a final showcase. Aimed at dancers with previous experience in either disciplines. This course is a fantastic opportunity to develop on your existing technical and performance skills as well as be introduced to new and inspirational aspects of connection, expression, musicality and sensuality! Every Sunday from 20th July – 24th August 1.30-3.30pm @ Islington Arts Factory Tutors/ Choreographers; Bruno Cura (Brazilian Zouk) Hana Saotome (Contemporary Dance) Course Fee; £190 *including costume Showcase will be Sunday 24th August (evening) To book your space please contact; Email -hana@dancelifelondon.com Phone – 07947585493 *accessories,makeup,shoes ect not included


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page