top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKazuyo Hamilton

The art of leading role( Article Part 3 - conclusion)

There seems to be much debate concerning the answer to the question, “Which role is perceived to be harder, being a leader or a follower?”

I spoke to several zouk instructors, although there is an equal split of those saying leaders and those saying followers. Meanwhile, a couple of people avoid the subject altogether, by saying that the main part is, in fact, the music. Maybe all of these opinions are rightfully correct and it could vastly differ from situation to situation. However, I found a clear answer to the question after I watched the video,“ Tango in Germany”.

Germany won over Brazil; which was said to be the strongest game in world cup history. One of my fellow zoukers commented that the reason was because “Germans are good at analysis. They have studied Brazilian football and each individual so carefully and re-introduced a form which disabled Brazilian team. Brazilian play with emotion and they knew if they gain 1 or 2 goals they make them attack and forget about defending. They used straight forward lines and patterns and didn't give Brazilians any chance to show off their ability.”

The combination of emotion and passion, institution are all important for playing a game if both teams have very strong individual players. But when it is combined with analysis using the latest technology, which led by bright director, it can determine the winner. This can be extrapolated to zouk dancing. When I saw the video “tango in German”, I liked the way German dancers described their approach to tango scenes.

Tango dancing may be more intense than Zouk but I felt as if the principal was the same. I quote what a German dancer said in the video; “I pick up some words which seem to have depth in meanings”.

A man said “It is always people to relearn,a mutual respect, intriguing interplay.A certain shared sensation – that is something special, I place exclusively at service of my partner and when you respect her, she respect him, then something new comes about. The greatest thing happens when one lets it go.

One lady said “ It’s the man who set a course. If he doesn’t call a shot, then I lead it. Then we came down” “I always try to set own my accents to keep it a dialogue.

Experience man concluded “ If something personal happen along the way that turn into a dialogue then the difference between leading and being led become totally unimportant. The object is not for the man to use the leader role for himself.

I feel that I found the answer from his word, don’t you agree?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page